Alice Munro Wins Nobel Prize in Literature

“I can’t play bridge. I don’t play tennis. All those things that people learn, and I admire, there hasn’t seemed time for. But what there is time for is looking out the window.” Alice Munro

What a thrill to wake up today and see that fellow Canadian, Alice Munro has won the Nobel Prize in Literature as “master of the contemporary short story”. Her stories usually revolve around life in rural southern Ontario, where she grew up, and coming-of-age struggles.

Have you read any of her stories? Wondering what to read?

Dance of the Happy Shades – her first collection of short stories and winner of the 1968 Governor General’s Award for Fiction.

Who Do You Think You Are – 1978 winner of the Governor General’s Award for English Fiction. Published outside of Canada as The Beggar Maid.

The Love of a Good Woman –1998 Giller Prize Winner.

Runaway – 2004 Giller Prize Winner.

Dear Life – Her most recent collection, published in 2012, and apparently her last, as Munro has said that she will retire from writing. She is 82 years old. Dear Life was awarded the Trillium Book Award.

Alice Munro also won the Man Booker International Prize in 2009 for her lifetime body of work. Watch the announcement of Munro winning the Nobel Prize here.


5 thoughts on “Alice Munro Wins Nobel Prize in Literature

  1. Whenever I visit my friend LJ in San Francisco, I always borrow a book from her huge collection to read on the flight back to Vancouver. The last time, I debated between a Laurie Colwin novel (since I’m almost done with her body of work) and Alice Munro’s The Beggar Maid. Now I can’t wait to borrow it after my next trip!

    I was somewhat rooting for Haruki Murakami, for his sheer imagination. Maybe next time.

    Glad I found your blogs; I’m very curious to read your India stories!

    Best from Vancouver,
    Luci Yamamoto

  2. For years, I have thought that two short story writers, the best at the craft, should be given the Nobel Prize for Literature. Alice Munro and William Trevor. The only sad thing about Munro getting the award is that she will no longer be publishing any more of her wonderful stories. It is sad to see her career ending, but it’s been a wonderful ride with her.

      • Three stories I would highly recommend: “After Rain”, “A Bit of Business” and “Lost Ground” from his collection “After Rain”.It’s hard to choose from all his stories but these three I think represent Trevor.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s